Federal Agency for the Safety of the Food Chain


Members Printable version   |   Last update on 07.12.2023

The royal decree (only available in Dutch and in French) modifying the royal decree (only available in Dutch and in French) nominating the members of the Scientific Committee has been published in the "Belgisch Staatsblad" of December 12th, 2021.

The new mandate of the Scientific Committee started on 25/01/2021. The inauguration of the new Scientific Committee took place on 28/01/2021 during an online session in the presence of Minister D. Clarinval. The Chair and Vice-Chair were elected during this session.


The Scientific Committee established at the FASFC is composed as follows:

  1. Dr. Pascal Veys, Centre de Recherches agronomiques, Gembloux (from 06/01/2022) replacing Prof. Dr. Antoine Clinquart, Université de Liège, Liège (until 31/12/2021);
  2. Dr. Philippe Delahaut, anciennement CER Groupe, Marloie; Vice-Chair 
  3. Prof. Dr. Ir. Bruno De Meulenaer, Universiteit Gent, Gent;
  4. Prof. Dr. Ir. Nick De Regge, Sciensano, Ukkel;
  5. Prof. Dr. Jeroen Dewulf, Universiteit Gent, Merelbeke;
  6. Prof. Em. Dr. Lieven De Zutter, Universiteit Gent, Merelbeke;
  7. Prof. Dr. Ir. Annemie Geeraerd Ameryckx, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Leuven;
  8. Dr. Sc. Nathalie Gillard, CER Groupe, Marloie
  9. Dr. Wet. Lieve Herman, Instituut voor Landbouw en Visserijonderzoek, Melle; Chair
  10. Prof. Dr. Kurt Houf, Universiteit Gent, Merelbeke;
  11. Dr. Nicolas Korsak Koulagenko, Université de Liège, Liège;
  12. Prof. Dr. Louis Maes, Universiteit Antwerpen, Wilrijk;
  13. Dr. Sc. Marcella Mori, Sciensano, Uccle;
  14. Prof. Dr. Ir. Andreja Rajkovic, Universiteit Gent, Gent;
  15. Dr. Ir. Nancy Roosens, Sciensano, Ixelles;
  16. Prof. Dr. Claude Saegerman, Université de Liège, Liège;
  17. Prof. Dr. Sc. Marie-Louise Scippo, Université de Liège, Liège;
  18. Prof. Dr. Ir. Pieter Spanoghe, Universiteit Gent, Gent;
  19. Prof. Dr. Yvan Vandenplas, Universitair ziekenhuis Brussel, Jette (until 28/09/2023);
  20. Dr. Wet . Koenraad Van Hoorde, Sciensano, Elsene;
  21. Prof. Dr. Ir. François Verheggen, Université de Liège-Gembloux Agro-Bio Tech, Gembloux;
  22. Prof. Dr. Ir. Siegfried Vlaeminck, Universiteit Antwerpen, Antwerpen.

The mandate of these members will run until January 24th, 2025.

Our mission is to provide independent scientific advice on the safety of the food chain.